ai-courses.ie

OpenAI Academy

Applied AI Foundations

Applied AI Foundations is a free course from OpenAI Academy, online. It takes about 1.5 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it intermediate level; the provider doesn't say.

Before you sign up

For people who use ChatGPT regularly and want to stop re-typing prompts and build repeatable workflows with review points. The focus on quality, speed and cost trade-offs is practical for team use. The caveats: it's ChatGPT-specific and assumes the basics, so it's not a first course. It's free and about 90 minutes. If you're new to AI at work, start with AI Foundations from OpenAI Academy.

What you'll learn

Free OpenAI Academy course on turning good prompts into structured, repeatable workflows for recurring work: planning steps, inputs, models and tools, adding checkpoints and human review, and balancing quality, speed and cost. Course badge for 80% or more on the assessment.

More courses on prompt engineering.

Who it's for

Business professionals.

Level: intermediate (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

Is Applied AI Foundations free?

Free. Free; requires a ChatGPT account, no workspace membership.

Certificate: free badge. OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment).

Questions people ask

How much does Applied AI Foundations cost?

It's free.

How long does Applied AI Foundations take?

About 1.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Applied AI Foundations?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "OpenAI Academy course badge (80%+ on assessment)".

Do I need experience first?

It's an intermediate course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: ChatGPT account. No other prerequisites stated.

When does Applied AI Foundations start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

  • AI Build

    Irish Management Institute (IMI)

    Delivery
    In person, Dublin
    Cost
    €1,995
    Level
    Intermediate
    For
    Managers and leaders, Business professionals
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Soon Starts in 6 days (19 Oct 2026) · +2 more dates

    IE
    Verified 12 Oct 2026
  • Leading AI Strategy and Execution

    Irish Management Institute (IMI)

    Delivery
    In person, Dublin
    Cost
    €1,495
    Level
    Intermediate
    For
    Managers and leaders, Business professionals
    Duration
    Not stated
    Certificate
    Yes

    Next: 3 Dec 2026 · +3 more dates

    IE
    Verified 12 Oct 2026

Similar courses on prompt engineering

Other prompt engineering courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI in Coaching MasteryIrish Management Institute (IMI)In person, Dublin€1,195IntermediateNot statedCPD certificate
AI Boost Bootcamp: How to Use Gemini at Work 101GoogleOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginner1Badge
ChatGPT Prompt Engineering for DevelopersDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner1.5Paid certificate
Prompt Engineering for YouCeADAROnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedFree certificate
Report an error on this page

Or email jakecboland@gmail.com.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.