What types of AI certificate are there?
| Type | What it shows | Courses we list |
|---|---|---|
| Certificate of completion | You finished the course | 30 |
| Digital badge | You finished a module or path | 11 |
| Professional certificate | You finished a multi-course programme from a company or university | 14 |
| Exam certification | You passed a proctored or graded exam | 4 |
| Academic award (NFQ) | A formal qualification at a set level of the National Framework of Qualifications | 14 |
| CPD certificate | Hours of continuing professional development | 9 |
Vendor exams: AWS, Microsoft and Google
| Course | Cost | Hours | Certificate |
|---|---|---|---|
| AWS Artificial Intelligence Practitioner Learning PlanAWS Skill Builder | Free to learnExam USD 100 | Not stated | Paid exam certification |
| Introduction to AI in Azure (AI-901T00)Microsoft on Microsoft Learn | Free | 9.5 | No certificate |
| Google AI EssentialsGoogle on Coursera | USD 49/month (price shown in USD) | 8 | Professional certificate |
| Google AI Professional CertificateGoogle on Coursera | USD 49/month (price shown in USD) | 8 | Professional certificate |
- AWS Certified AI Practitioner (AIF-C01): the learning plan is free; AWS shows the exam fee as USD 100.
- Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals: exam AI-900 was retired on 30 June 2026 and replaced by AI-901. The prep course is free; Microsoft’s pages we checked did not show the exam price for Ireland. See Microsoft AI courses.
- Google: Google AI Essentials and the Google AI Professional Certificate are paid Coursera subscriptions, shown in USD.
Free AI certificates
We list 28 free courses that also give a free certificate or badge. See them all on free AI courses.
- FreeFree certificate
Elements of AI: Introduction to AI (Ireland)
Elements of AI (University of Helsinki / MinnaLearn)
Free · Beginner · Duration not stated
- FreeFree certificate
Claude 101
Anthropic Academy
Free · Beginner · Duration not stated
- FreeFree certificate
Work smarter with AI
Microsoft Learn
Free · Beginner · Under 1 h (estimated)
- FreeFree certificate
Introduction to Generative AI
Google
Free · Beginner · Under 1 h (estimated)
Irish NFQ awards and micro-credentials
The National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ) sets the level of Irish qualifications. AI awards we list run from Level 7 to Level 9. Many are part-funded through Springboard+, the HEA or Skillnet.
| Course | Cost | Certificate | Next start |
|---|---|---|---|
| Diploma in Artificial Intelligence and Working into the Future (Springboard+)CCT College Dublin | Funded€497.50 funded | NFQ L760 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
| Certificate in Foundations of Artificial IntelligenceTechnology Ireland ICT Skillnet (Krisolis with TU Dublin) | Funded€999 funded (full fee €2,224.20) | NFQ L810 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
| Postgraduate Diploma in Computing in Big Data Analytics and Artificial IntelligenceAtlantic Technological University (Donegal, Letterkenny) | FundedFree under Springboard+ | NFQ L960 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
| Advanced Machine Learning (Micro-credential)Dublin City University | €824 | NFQ L97.5 ECTS | Jan 2027 |
| MSc in Computing (Artificial Intelligence major)Dublin City University (School of Computing) | €7,900 | NFQ L990 ECTS | Jan 2027 |
| National MSc in Artificial IntelligenceUniversity of Limerick with Technology Ireland ICT Skillnet | Funded€3,895 a year funded (full fee €5,940 a year) | NFQ L9 | Applications closed. Next: Sep 2027 |
| Postgraduate Diploma in Science in Artificial Intelligence for BusinessNational College of Ireland | Funded€700 funded | NFQ L9 | Next intake not announced |
| Driving Performance with AI and Analytics (Micro-credential)Trinity College Dublin (Trinity Business School) | FundedFunded. Fee not stated by provider | NFQ L95 ECTS | Applications closed |
| MSc in Computing in Human Centered Artificial Intelligence (part-time, online)Technological University Dublin | €7,400 | NFQ L990 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
| MSc Data Science and Artificial IntelligenceUniversity College Cork | €8,000 | NFQ L990 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
| Machine Learning and AI (Micro-credential)University College Dublin | €918 | NFQ L95 ECTS | 18 Jan 2027 |
| Future of Artificial Intelligence (Micro-credential)University of Galway | €850 | NFQ L95 ECTS | Jan 2027 |
| Postgraduate Certificate in Artificial Intelligence for ProfessionalsUniversity of Galway (with itag Skillnet) | Funded€3,095 funded | NFQ L930 ECTS | Next intake not announced |
For master’s and postgraduate options, see AI masters in Ireland.
Are AI certifications worth it?
That depends on who needs to see it. A free certificate is useful for your own record and a CV line. A vendor exam is a recognised test of one company’s tools. An NFQ award is a formal qualification. We don’t make claims about jobs or salaries; compare cost, hours and certificate type in the tables above.