ai-courses.ie

Anthropic

Claude Platform 101

Claude Platform 101 is a free course from Anthropic, online. It takes about 1.5 hours and ends with a free badge. We rate it beginner level; the provider doesn't say.

Good to know
  • Needs a paid tool licence or subscription to take part. See the prerequisites.

Before you sign up

Suits developers who have used Claude in a chat window and want to build it into their own applications, from a single request to an agent. It is free, Anthropic lists it at 1.5 hours, and passing the quiz earns a completion badge. The main caveat is cost beyond the course: you need an API key, and after a small free credit for new accounts, API use is paid. A longer free alternative is Building with the Claude API on Coursera.

What you'll learn

Free Claude Academy course from Anthropic for developers building on the Claude Platform. Covers a first API request, choosing a model, writing the agent loop by hand and with the SDK's Tool Runner, tool use, extended thinking, built-in tools, skills, MCP servers, context management and managed agents.

More courses on AI agents and agentic AI.

Who it's for

Developers and engineers.

Level: beginner (our rating). Delivery: online, self-paced.

Prerequisites

Comfort reading and writing code in at least one language and basic command-line familiarity; a Claude Console account and an API key

Is Claude Platform 101 free?

Free. Course free; API use is paid after a small free credit for new Claude Console accounts.

Certificate: free badge. Completion badge.

Taking this course from Ireland

Anthropic, based in the US, offers this course worldwide, so learners in Ireland join the same course as everyone else. Details last confirmed on 22 Oct 2026.

No Irish scheme on our funding list (Springboard+, Skillnet Ireland, HEA Micro-Credential Learner Fee Subsidy 2026 and others) covers its cost.

Irish courses for developers and engineers on a shared topic: ISTQB Certified Tester: Testing with Generative AI (Tech Industry Alliance Skillnet).

See also: funded AI training in Ireland, AI courses for developers and engineers.

Questions people ask

How much does Claude Platform 101 cost?

It's free.

How long does Claude Platform 101 take?

About 1.5 hours, self-paced.

Is there a certificate for Claude Platform 101?

Yes: free badge. The provider calls it "Completion badge".

Do I need experience first?

It's a beginner course (our rating; the provider does not state a level). Prerequisites: Comfort reading and writing code in at least one language and basic command-line familiarity; a Claude Console account and an API key.

When does Claude Platform 101 start?

Start any time.

Alternatives

Chosen from other courses of the same kind, then by shared topic. At least one is an Irish course where one fits. Closed courses are left out.

  • Building with the Claude API

    Anthropic ยท Coursera

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner
    For
    Developers and engineers
    Duration (as stated by provider)
    1 week to complete at 10 hours a week
    Certificate
    No

    Start any time

    Verified 26 Oct 2026
  • Building with Llama 4

    DeepLearning.AI

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free for now
    Level
    Beginner
    For
    Developers and engineers
    Duration
    About 1.5 hours
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Verified 4 Oct 2026
  • GenAI for Teaching and Learning: How to do it right

    National Forum for the Enhancement of Teaching and Learning in Higher Education (with DCU, UL and Trinity College Dublin)

    Delivery
    Online, self-paced
    Cost
    Free
    Level
    Beginner (our rating)
    For
    Teachers and educators
    Duration
    About 25 hours
    Certificate
    Yes

    Start any time

    Free certificateIE
    Verified 26 Oct 2026

Similar courses on LLMs and RAG

Other LLMs and RAG courses, same level first.
CourseDeliveryCostLevelHoursCertificate
AI Python for BeginnersDeepLearning.AIOnline, self-pacedFree for nowCertificate paidBeginner12Paid certificate
ChatGPT fundamentalsOpenAI AcademyOnline, self-pacedFreeBeginnerNot statedNo certificate
LLM CourseHugging Face LearnOnline, self-pacedFreeIntermediateEach chapter in this course is designed to be completed in 1 week, with approximately 6-8 hours of work per weekDuration (as stated by provider)No certificate
Evaluating RAG and Semantic Search SystemsNVIDIA Deep Learning InstituteOnline, self-pacedPaid. Price shown in USDIntermediate3Certificate not stated
Report an error on this page

Or email hello@ai-courses.ie.

New courses by email: launching soon

We're setting up a newsletter for new courses, price changes and funded intakes. Until it starts, New this week lists every change.